how to get your music on tv film and commercials
Written by efreezee

How to Get your music placed on TV, Film and Commercials



Sooo, you’ve got some pretty hot music, and now you want some music placement opportunities on National Cable TV, Commercials, and Film right? Awesome, that’s exactly what I’m about to teach you.

I originally wrote this article Jan 2015, but I am updating it today with new and awesome information! I just recently got a beat placement on VH1’s Love & Hip Hop Atlanta!!! I was watching the show with my babe, and all of a sudden my beat started playing out of nowhere!! I looked around to make sure it wasn’t my phone or computer glitching or something… it wasnt!!!

I freaked out and said “That’s my beat!!”, “OH MY GOD”, “Thats My Beat!!”.

I could not believe it! I always had a dream of my music playing on a popular show that I actually watch. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I had received numerous placements on VH1’s “Best Week Ever” already,

music placement on vh1 best week ever

My First Music Placement On VH1 Best Week Ever

but this was my beat playing on a MAJOR TV Show that I actually watch. I looked it up and that show is watched by 5.6 million people! I honestly don’t know how much I stand to make from that beat placement yet since it only happened about 1 month and 1 day ago, but who’s counting haha.

Check out the post and video when I realized my beat was playing on VH1’s Love and Hip Hop Atlanta, I freaked out!!

That was an unforgettable experience that will live with me for a lifetime!

My Name is Erick “Efreezee” Carlson and I am a music producer and composer for Artists, TV and Film, but it hasn’t always been that way though. I only started getting TV placements back in 2014 and it actually blew my mind at how easy it was to get. You will also be surprised at how easy it actually is to get your music placed on TV and Film just by knowing the right information and where to go.

However, keep in mind, I’ve been making music since 2001, it took me over 13 years to get my first TV or Film placement. You are basically getting the benefit of my 15 years of experience all in this one article. Lucky you!! Wish I would of had some kind of help when I slipped, fell, and busted my everything along the way… but, that’s another story, haha, lets get your music placed!

How I Got Started

Back in 2014, I was at a point in my music producer career where I wanted to start making off of my beats, and I was searching everywhere for all kinds of ways to do that. I started out google searching for ways to promote my music. All I found were people wanting to charge me to put my beats on a mix-tape or music companies offering Twitter or Email blasts. They promised to shoot your music out to all of their 1,000’s of music fans. I did some research online and found out that, those blasts really don’t work and only get you so much exposure.

My First BMI Roytalty Check For Music Placements

My First BMI Roytalty Check For Music Placements On National TV

After searching and searching for ways to promote my beats, I finally ended up finding what I never knew I was looking for, it was “Music Publishing & Licensing Companies”.

I found a music licensing company called Broadjam.comI spent $300 dollars for a year membership to try it out and see if I could get some solid placements on their. They not only let you submit music for TV and Commercials, but also with major artists.

music placement opportunity with shakira major artist

Selected for Music Placement With Shakira

I was actually selected at one point for a placement on a Shakira album, but that was only the first step to getting on the album. Your beat or song still has to make it all the way through 2 more steps before making the final cut. And, not only do you have to pay the $300, but you also have to pay 5 dollars per submission. To make a long story short, I never ended up receiving 1 single placement from Broadjam.com and probably spend around $550 total. I was really discouraged at this point and wasn’t sure whether to sign up with another music licensing company or not.

That was until I got a random call from a lady in New York, claiming she knew how to get my beats placed on TV and Film. I was very susceptible, especially having never talked to this person ever in my life before. Although, she seemed liked she was pretty knowledgeable about the music industry, and was only asking me for $200 for the full list of music licensing companies (I think there were 2). I only had a little bit of money at the time and only felt comfortable giving out $100 dollars until I knew at least one of the companies were legit. So, I paid her the $100 dollars for the information via Paypal and then she told me where to go.

Unlock the content below to find out where to go (Website) to get your music placed on TV!

14 thoughts on “How to Get your music placed on TV, Film and Commercials

  1. I got my first placement from Jingle Punks back in 2011… BET too… get you mix right and be creative and you can get the account!

  2. Your commentA&E Television Networks
    235 E. 45th St
    New York, NY 10017-3354
    PHONE 212-210-1400
    FAX 212-210-1429
    Jennifer Insogna
    HEAD OF MUSIC DEPT.
    PHONE 212-210-1400 x 5992
    FAX 212-210-1429
    jennifer.insogna@aetn.com
    Glenn Goldstein
    SR CREATIVE MANAGER
    PHONE 212-210-1400
    FAX 212-210-1429
    glenn.goldstein@aetn.com
    Madeleine Lowinger
    DIRECTOR MUSIC SERVICES
    PHONE 212-551-1597
    FAX 212-210-1429
    madeleine.lowinger@aetn.com
    Stephen Saperstein
    MANAGER CREATIVE
    PHONE 212-351-0300
    FAX 212-210-1429
    stephen.saperstein@aetn.com
    Brooke Bryant
    SPECIALIST MUSIC SERVICES
    PHONE 212-551-1594
    FAX 212-210-1429
    brooke.bryant@aetn.com
    Halley Devestern
    MUSIC DEPT
    PHONE 212-210-1400
    FAX 212-210-1429
    halley.devestern@aetn.com
    ABC
    500 S Buena Vista St.
    Burbank, CA 91521-4226
    PHONE 818-560-1000
    FAX 818-562-3330
    disney.com
    Dawn Soler
    SR VP TV MUSIC
    PHONE 818-460-6235
    FAX 818-460-6625
    dawn.soler@abc.com
    ASSITANT CAROL YAMANOHA
    Tom Lopinski
    DIRECTOR MUSIC LICENSING
    PHONE 818-460-6158
    FAX 818-460-6625
    tom.lopinski@disney.com
    ASSITANT DORIA HUSS
    Mike Prince
    DIRECTOR TV LICENSING
    PHONE 818-460-7724
    FAX 818-460-6625
    mike.a.prince@disney.com
    ASSITANT DORIA HUSS
    Melyssa D. Hardwick
    SR MGR MUSIC CREATIVE SERVICES
    PHONE 818-460-6231
    FAX 818-460-6625
    melyssa.d.hardwick@abc.com
    Peter Dicecco
    SR VP MUSIC BUSINESS AFFAIRS
    PHONE 818-460-6446
    FAX 818-460-5375
    peter.dicecco@abc.com
    ASSITANT SHANELLE SMITH
    Stephan Pine
    MUSIC COOR
    PHONE 818-460-6233
    stephan.pine@abc.com
    ABC
    4151 Prospect Ave
    Los Angeles, CA 90027-4524
    PHONE 323-671-5211
    FAX 323-671-3311
    abc.com
    Sylvia A. Webster
    EX DIR CREATIVE SERVICES
    PHONE 323-671-4767
    FAX 323-671-4557
    sylvia.a.webster@abc.com
    ASSITANT JENNIFER L. DRAKE
    Caitlin Hill
    DIRECTOR MUSIC
    PHONE 323-671-5335
    FAX 323-671-4557
    caitlin.hill@abc.com
    Greg Yantek
    MUSIC SUPERVISOR
    PHONE 323-671-5211
    FAX 323-671-3311
    gregory.e.yantek@abc.com
    Scott Rhodes
    MUSIC SUPERVISOR
    PHONE 323-671-5211
    FAX 323-671-3311
    scott.b.rhodes@abc.com
    Maria Loeza
    PRODUCTION COOR
    PHONE 323-671-4710
    FAX 323-671-4557
    maria.loeza@abc.com
    Nancy Tafoya
    MUSIC COOR
    PHONE 323-671-4849
    FAX 323-671-3311
    nancy.k.tafoya@abc.com
    ABC
    47 W. 66 St 9th Fl
    New York, NY 10023-6201
    PHONE 212-456-4355
    FAX 212-456-3084
    abc.com
    Alessandra Springer
    EX DIRECTOR LICENSING
    PHONE 212-456-2867
    FAX 212-456-3084
    alessandra.springer@abc.com
    Faye S. Constantine
    DIRECTOR PUBLISHING
    PHONE 212-456-3233
    FAX 212-456-3084
    faye.constantine@abc.com
    Allan Raible
    MUSIC LIBRARY
    PHONE 212-456-4361
    FAX 212-456-3084
    allan.raible@abc.com
    Steve Mongeluzzo
    MUSIC COOR
    PHONE 212-456-4358
    FAX 212-456-3084
    steve.m.mongeluzzo@abc.com
    Kyle Hallenbeck
    MUSIC COOR
    PHONE 212-456-4359
    FAX 212-456-3084
    kyle.hallenbeck@abc.com
    Rebecca Childers
    MUSIC COOR
    PHONE 212-456-2517
    FAX 212-456-3084
    rebecca.childers@abc.com
    ABC Cable Networks Group
    3800 W. Alameda 20th Fl
    Burbank, CA 91505-4038
    PHONE 818-560-1000
    FAX 818-973-3471
    disney.com
    Steven Vincent
    VP MUSIC & SOUNDTRACKS
    PHONE 818-973-4097
    FAX 818-973-3471
    steven.vincent@disney.com
    Lisa Brown-Leopold
    DIRECTOR MUSIC (DISNEY CHANNEL, DISNEY
    JUNIOR, DISNEY XD)
    PHONE 818-955-6716
    FAX 818-973-3471
    lisa.brown-leopold@disney.com
    Tricia Holloway
    DIRECTOR MUSIC (ABC FAMILY)
    PHONE 818-569-4894
    FAX 818-973-3471
    tricia.holloway@disney.com
    Moira Finnigan
    MUSIC COOR
    PHONE 818-569-4860
    FAX 818-973-3471
    moira.finnigan@disney.com
    Jeff Lowy
    VP MUSIC BUSINESS AFFAIRS
    PHONE 818-460-6011
    FAX 818-460-6022
    jeff.lowy@disney.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *